I thought I’d start this blog about my adventures in stitching with my entry to a rather unusual competition.

Big baggy boob

Big baggy boob

The charity knitting group I belong to – Loving Hands – knits ‘boobs’ to aid in teaching women how to breastfeed (not everyone wants their own manhandled). One day someone stitched a funny face on theirs and sparked an idea for a competition. The ‘pimp my boob’ competition was born! It will be judged in the next few weeks and the entries will then be auctioned off to raise money for a breast cancer charity.  It’s big because I had to use large needles, it’s baggy because I used plastic bags rather than wool and, well, it looks like a boob.

close up of knitted plastic

close up of knitted plastic

As this wasn’t really a ‘pimped’ boob I had another idea but I’m not very happy with the result – presenting Boob tube …

Boob tube

Boob tube

It’s a rough approximation of the London tube map but I hope it is vaguely recognisable. I’ve seen a sneak preview of some of the entries – ‘here comes the boob’ complete with wedding dress and bouquet, ‘Princess Tittyarna’ – with her own throne to name a couple. Once the judging has been done I hope to link to the results here too.

