My reason for querying the lack of ‘stash’ in the Ikea catalogue the other day is because it is a topic that preys on most knitter’s minds – when they can add to it, where they can hide it and what they will make with it. It starts in the wool shop (or website) when our eye is caught by colour or our hands tempted by texture and before we know it we’ve made a purchase, often with no idea of what we will use the wool for in the future.

my wool stash

my wool stash

At the moment in my stash I have: 10 cones of chenille in various colours – bought to make scarves with last Christmas, a large tote bag full of ‘baby’ wool for making prem outifts (much of this has been donated), 500gs of lilac double knit to make ‘something’ for my goddaughter, 3 balls of dayglo fluorescent wool – I think that was for knitting aliens, several 100g balls of double knit in brown and navy for making school jumpers, 300g of green cotton (a birthday present from my mum), about 10 balls of ‘fancy’ wool (with glitter and bobbles, etc) for making scarves, wool for making socks (I’ve yet to turn a heel), wool for making hats, wool for making gloves and some that I intend to one day make a top for me.

The picture above doesn’t look too bad until I point out that it goes behind the chair ….

wool stash 2

wool stash 2

The other side of the chair contains my fabric stash – which is another post …..

I think I may have a problem and I’m trying to cut down on my urge to visit wool shops – at least until the stash has depleted a bit – or until the next knitting for charity challenge from Loving Hands.

