Have you ever looked at something and thought ‘I can do that’? Yeah, me too but time often gets in the way. I’ve been a bit of a ‘reusable bag’ hoarder for a while now but some stores are charging high prices for the ‘green’ option. It was on one of these shopping trips that I thought – I could do that. I accompanied my mum on one of her fabric buying excursions (she makes all the soft furnishings in our family and is a dab hand at upholstery), grabbed some offcuts at a ridiculously low price and dragged the old Singer sewing machine out from the bottom of my wardrobe, threaded it and made an attempt.

In short it was a disaster. I couldn’t get the machine’s tension right and a needle broke. I showed the result to my mum and she came over to ‘look at’ the machine she managed to coax it to stitch for a while but then ceremoniously pronounced it dead. It was the machine that she made her bridesmaid dresses on – and my parents celebrate their 40th wedding anniversary next year. In truth it probably needs a bit of TLC to coax it back into life but I’m of the ‘if it doesn’t work give it a thwack’ school of engineering so I’ll probably freecycle it to a good home.

Whilst I decided to go ahead and purchase a new sewing machine (the previous one had been untouched in the bottom of my wardrobe for several years) I hand stitched a bag – and I love it.

Swag Bag

Swag Bag

I even managed to sew in a lining and a pocket:

inside Swag Bag

inside Swag Bag

It was originally designed as a Christmas present but I’m using it. It did take ages to hand stitch so a sewing machine was duly ordered and I’ve been stitching away at new ideas with the hope of eventually setting up an etsy account.

What slogan would you put on?

